Excerpts from
"Historical record of the city of Savannah"
F. D. Lee and J. L. Agnew Savannah, Ga. - 1868
found on http://www.rootsweb.com/~gachatha/ by Cheri Robinson

updated 1-Feb-2004

from Chapter 1 - Origin of the settlement of Savannah.

About the year 1729, the sufferings of the poor people of England, especially the debtors who by the laws of the country which gave to the creditor complete control over them, were thrown into prison, there to remain in rags and misery the rest of their days, enlisted the sympathy of a number of influential men of London who visited the debtors' prisons and adopted measures for their relief. But owing to the existing laws very little good was accomplished and they sought other means of relief.

These gentlemen, John Lord Viscount Percival, Edward Digby, George Carpenter, James Oglethorpe, George Heathcote, John Laroche, James Vernon, William Beletha, Stephen Hales, Thomas Tower, Robert More, Robert Hucks, Roger Holland, William Sloper, Francis Eyles, John Burton,
Richard Bandy, Arthur Bradford, Samuel Smith, Adam Anderson and Thomas Coram, petitioned the Throne to grant them a charter for a separate and distinct province from Carolina, between the Savannah and Altamaha rivers, to which they designed sending a number of poor people who had neither lands nor other means of supporting themselves and families.

On the ninth of June, 1732 his Majesty King George the Second granted the charter

from Chapter 7 - Arrival of the Steamship Savannah

In the year 1846 hostilities between the United States and Mexico commenced, and a call was made upon Georgia for a regiment of soldiers, to be sent to the seat of war. The regiment was promptly raised and sent off under Colonel Henry R. Jackson, and shared the honors won by our soldiers on the Mexican plains. The Irish Jasper Greens, of Savannah, were with the regiment, the following named officers and men composing the company: J. McMahon; Captain; G. Curlette, D. O'Connor, Lieutenants; John Devaney, M. Carey, P. Martin, Sergeants; Leo Wylly, M. Feery, P. Tierney, T. Bourke, Owen Reilly, Corporals; William Bandy, W. D. Burke, P. Bossu, Francis Camfield, J. Chalmers, P. Clark, P. Cody, John Coffee, William Coffee, James Conlihan, Elijah Condon, Joseph Davis, Dennis Dermond, Michael Downy, Michael Duggan, Francis Dutzmer, Charles Farrelly, Thomas Fenton, David Fountain, James Fleeting, James Flynn, William P. Fielding, James Feely, P. Gerrin, Moses Gleason, O. B. Hall, Michael Hoar, Timothy Howard, R. M. Howard, E. W. Irwin, John Keegin, Humphrey Leary, W. S. Levi, David Lynch, Michael Lynch, L. Mahoney, Henry Marry, John Makin, Bryan Morris, James McFehilly, Hugh Murtagh, Henry Nagle, Daniel Nickels, M. M. Payne, George Perminger, Thomas Pigeon, John Reagan, Francis Reeves, R. Richardson, J. Rinehart, B. Rodebuck, R. M. Robertson, J. D. Ryan, Thomas Ryan, John Sanderlyn, Michael Shea, Peter Suzmel, David Stokes, C. F. E. Smyth, R. L. S. Smith, Patrick Shiels, Patrick Tidings, Daniel F. Fowles, J. W. Warden, James Waters, Michael Weldon, John Whaling, James Waters, jr., Jacob Zimmerman, privates; William Gatehouse, George Gatehouse, musicians.